Review: John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder Shampoo & Conditioner

Hi lovelies!

Today I’m going to be reviewing the Go Blonder by John Frieda hair care line, specifically the shampoo and conditioner.

20130819-203843.jpg

I’ve been using these two products pretty exclusively for about a year and a half and overall I've been pretty happy with what I've got out them. I have naturally blonde hair, but the colour can get dull particularly in Winter, so a product that promises to naturally and gradually lighten blonde hair was of course attractive me. Here is my general view of the Go Blonder line.

Pros
Does what it promises
The packaging promises to gradually lighten blonde hair, natural or dyed, and it does just that. Even after the first wash, my hair was noticeably blonder. Whether you want to breathe some life into your natural hair colour or want to make your colour last well between hairdresser appointments, I would definitely recommend giving this a shot.

Shampoo lathers well
Like any good shampoo should, this shampoo lathers up well with only a little bit of product needing to be used.

Consistency of Shampoo is good
Although these products are quite pricey, one of the great things about the shampoo particularly is the thick consistency of the product means you only need a little at a time and lasts you so much longer! Typically a bottle of the shampoo will last me as long as one and a half bottles of the conditioner.

Smells great
I think both the shampoo and conditioner from this range smell really nice. It’s hard to describe the scent, and some people may disagree with my description, but I think it smells mildly fruity or like a light, sweet smelling perfume.

Work best together
I have tried using the products separately in combination with other shampoos/conditioners, but this is never as effective as using the two together. I guess you could say that this is a pro in terms of the results offered by using this combination.

Cons
Can leave you with dry hair
This con is a pretty big con. One side effect of the ingredients in this product is that they can leave the ends of your hair dry after long term use. To counteract this, I would recommend using some kind of deep conditioning treatment once a week.

On the pricey side
This seems to be a con in quite a lot of my reviews lately. This line of hair care costs more than average (about $17-$20 per bottle). However, the results you get in terms of lightening blonde hair are worth the money.

Can be itchy on the scalp
Because of some of the natural lightening ingredients in this product, it is important that you ensure all of the product has washed out, otherwise you may find your scalp feeling a little bit itchy.

That’s all for today lovelies! I hope your Mondays weren’t too manic and I’ll speak to you later on in the week.

Love Beth xx

Leave a Reply

